Worth Getting Out of Bed

By Johana Dominguez

Hello, my name is Johana Dominguez. I am a freshman at California University of Stanislaus in the process of obtaining a BS in Biology. I’m with the STEMSEAS program currently sailing on the E/V Nautilus on Expedition NA160. Today is the 30th of May, marking our 6th out of 10 days out at sea. Traveling from Honolulu, Hawaii to Sidney, Canada, mapping the ocean floor that is yet to be seen and explored by human eyes. It’s crazy to think that we are the first people to have seen this part of the ocean.

Sunsets at Sea. Photo Credit: Johana Dominguez

I am beyond grateful to have this opportunity to learn various topics about oceanography and social media outreach. The various STEMSEAS and E/V Nautilus crew members are the most amazing and kind human beings I have ever had the opportunity to meet. Just the previous day ML Park gave an inspirational PowerPoint of her life experiences. Leaving me both scared and excited to see what my life would look like with the ever changing world around me. Learning about all these amazing careers has me second guessing if I have been closed minded all my life. Believing that the only appropriate career choices were being a doctor, lawyer, or teacher. But being here on the E/V Nautilus and learning from ocean mappers, videographers, and crew members, I’ve come to the conclusion that the world has much to offer, including the ocean.

Well enough of that, let’s get to the nitty gritty of how a day of a life with Johana Dominguez on the E/V Nautilus is like. Waking up in the morning is the most difficult task I have. Something about the rocking of the vessel at sea has me sleeping for ages. However, once I am up and dressed for the day I head up for breakfast. Which is always, and I mean ALWAYS delicious, the chefs on board really know how to work their magic out at sea. After this, we had a debrief on our science comm projects with Dr. Pirlo. I discussed my progress by outlining my child’s book. I don’t think I can wrap my head around the fact that I will be writing and illustrating a child’s book! Not too long ago, my mother and sisters had been pushing me to get my artwork out there to get recognized by a book writer; and now I am most literally going to be writing and drawing a book. I’ve been working on a few sketches and title ideas to have outlines, so once I’m home I can bring my ideas to life. Dr. Pirlo, during our debrief, suggested the idea to have my book translated in different languages once it was made. I thought this was an amazing idea to have it translated, especially since I come from a Spanish-speaking household and I would love to have my parents read my book. Along with children with different cultural backgrounds that might not speak and read English.

Well, sorry, I got sidetracked with my excitement of my science comm project, but after working a bit on sketches, it’s lunch time where once again I am surprised by the amazing food that is being produced out in the middle of the Pacific. After this ravishing meal, I make my way down to the wet lab where the STEMSeas members and myself got a lesson on fossil sorting. In particular, we worked with marine sediments found in various layers of the ocean floor.

View from the Wetlab. Photo Credit: Johana Dominguez

After dinner we had a presentation from Dave, the man behind the screens. During his presentation he discussed his life out in Alaska. Talking about the beautiful land and a brief rundown on what Alaska is. Talking about his personal life in Alaska when he’s not out at sea.

Now it’s gym time, I head my way down to the cozy gym room. Where in the next 30 minutes I sweat away all the calories I’ve built up over the day. Today I had a beautiful view from the windows on the ship of the ocean looking marvelous in the evening sky. My mind races through the endless thoughts I’ve built up throughout the day. Just feeling endless gratitude for the opportunity to be on the E/V Nautilus with extraordinary human beings.

View from the treadmill in the gym. Photo Credit: Johana Dominguez

Leave a comment