Arriving on the E/V Nautilus

By: Nayeli Ramos

Hey there! My name is Nayeli Ramos and I am currently a fifth year undergraduate student at California State University Stanislaus studying Biological Sciences. As a first generation Latina in STEM I was extremely delighted to have the opportunity to participate in this expedition. This far in my college career, I have found it difficult to navigate college. Questions like what opportunities do I have as an undergrad student? What can I do to be involved in research? What can I do with my degree in biology? So many questions that I’ve had over the last few years which I’ve learned are normal and okay to do. I decided to talk to my Biogeography professor Dr.Pirlo and she suggested I apply to STEMSEAS. Quickly, I went home to submit my application. I can’t say it was the easiest process. I didn’t have my passport so I had to go to the San Francisco Passport Agency. I was anxious, feeling uncertain about getting it. However, it all worked out because now I am here, feeling grateful and excited.I am currently sailing on Expedition NA160. Here’s a little bit about my experience so far:


Today, May 24th, marked our first day on the E/V Nautilus where we were given a rundown of what the next 10 days of our lives will look like. Upon arrival, the STEMSEAS students got the opportunity to meet many of the team members on board. Right away you can see how passionate and dedicated they are about their work. Their passion for the field of marine science truly set an inspiring tone for the exciting journey ahead. My first feelings about being on the ship were a combination of nervousness and excitement. The Nautilus itself has so much to offer marine scientists. After we settled into our rooms, we were able to enjoy the chef’s dinner which was amazing. Shortly after we had a meeting in the Social Lounge. Being able to get to know students and the STEMSEAS mentors with many of the same passions has made me feel so comfortable and welcoming. As I am sitting here writing this in the lounge, the boat is all started and getting ready to leave in about 15 minutes. I am looking forward to learning more about science communication, seafloor mapping, and many more science opportunities. Participating in the STEMSEAS program aboard the nautilus is an exciting opportunity for professional and personal growth. I hope this experience enhances my understanding of different fields in marine science while also improving my skills in science communication and teamwork.

E/V Nautilus sailing out of Honolulu Harbor. Image Credit: Nayeli Ramos

Leave a comment