Happy Birthday at Sea

By: Marisol Gonzalez Flores

My name is Marisol Gonzalez Flores and I am a second year student at Indiana University of Pennsylvania working on a dual degree in Geology and Criminology with the hopes of one day pursuing a career in Environmental Law and Justice. I am currently on board the E/V Nautilus with a wonderful team of STEMSEAS students, educators, and E/V Nautilus crew and professionals. Today marked day 2 of our journey from Honolulu, Hawaii to Sydney, BC. Today also marked my 20th birthday!

From Left to Right: Dani, Mari, & Johana


Since being on the ship, I have felt drained, sleepy (I think I have napped on every comfy chair here), and overall outside my comfort zone. This isn’t inherently a bad thing, but I hate not feeling myself in situations like these when I want to give it my all (but physically can’t). I have learned that it is okay to listen to my body! Adjusting to a 6-hour difference in time zone all while getting use to mother nature rocking me 24/7, isn’t so easy. Luckily, I am not alone and everyone has been super flexible. This morning felt no different. I had mentally prepared myself to spend my birthday away from my family and friends and I tried to keep a positive mindset in and avoid feeling homesick. My bunk mates, however, had a different plan. They greeted me in the morning with a happy birthday and somehow managed to ask me what my friends always seem to ask… the classic ”do you feel any older yet”?


If you would’ve told me 2 months ago that I would be spending my 20th birthday somewhere in the middle of the pacific ocean I would’ve thought you were crazy. Yet, somehow, after a nice load of pancakes for breakfast…that’s exactly where I found myself. Pondering how exactly I got so blessed to be admiring views like these for my 20th birthday. All while simultaneously asking myself, Marisol, what are you doing here? Do you really belong? Feelings like these linger for me when I am a part of something bigger than myself. Sea floor mapping, for example, is much of a larger project than my physical body. Yet, I’m here. After pondering some more, napping (again), lunch, and finally our first STEMSEAS class, I was reminded why I am here and not celebrating my birthday at home. Bigger projects like this, projects that make us question our existence, is part of what makes us human. How far are we willing to stretch our curiosity and put it to the test? Where do we draw the line in asking questions, seeking solutions, etc? Is there such line? Questions like these are why and what I love about science in general. Everyday, we are challenged and forced to think. In just one class on science communication, I was reminded of this again.


It was hard not being home today. I was dealing with birthday wishes, wishing I was home, calling my parents and family, etc. At the same time I found myself forever grateful that I got to spend a monumental day for me working on a piece of a monumental project for marine science (I mean, how cool is that!). Our next class on goal setting, was a refreshing way to apply a (very) useful tool to our everyday lives. Outside of the E/V Nautilus, outside of our STEMSEAS projects, we are dreamers at heart. How can we set smart goals to achieve those dreams? With so many bright minds in a room, it is hard not to leave the space feeling inspired. I found myself jotting down ideas for the legacy I want to leave on my first expedition. I think creating a documentary that highlights the crew of the ship and who exactly they are is an amazing way to thank them for their hard work all while fulfilling our goal of science communication. Working with others from the STEMSEAS team would be amazing for this so we can combine our strong suits…science isn’t always individual.

Mari blowing out the candles on her birthday cake prepared by galley crew, Oleksandr (holding cake) and Jorge (in background).


After more brainstorming came dinner, and the end of my birthday back home as it hit midnight in Kennett. I was surprised by everyone on board with a cake and so many birthday wishes! I was not expecting it at all and by this time I felt myself again. That action of love reassured me that I am exactly where I am supposed to be. After winning a competitive UNO game and stuffing our faces with cake, some of the STEMSEAS students and I ended on top of the hot tub watching the sunset. We talked about previous terrible managers at work, our different ways of cooking, some of our favorite shows, and most importantly we laughed…a lot. I end today by writing this, and with all the confidence in the world I can say that my 20th birthday was perfect. So far, we are only in the beginning of our journey. We have a lot more mapping and learning to do, and a lot more bonding to accomplish. Despite only knowing and seeing these faces for the past two days, they made every single bit of today worth it. I look forward to the rest of my 20s, and I look forward to the rest of this trip! I am hoping for no more seasickness, and working on learning as much as I can for others. Hopefully, we continue in calm waters and a positive attitude the rest of the trip! Thank you mother nature (and everyone on board) for the best 20th birthday!

Sunset at sea. Photo credit: Marisol Gonzalez Flores

Leave a comment