Happier than ever

Saturday, August 20, 2022

It was a few days into the trip and I had barely talked to anyone back at home. The days are so fast and exciting that before you know it, you’re settling into bed again in preparation for the long day ahead. I was standing on the stern of the ship when I tried to call my mom. Thankfully she picked up! 

I hadn’t realized how much I had missed talking to her until I heard her voice. I told her all about our trip thus far. About the dolphins we had seen, the huge pod of whales, the otter, and the albacore the crew caught. Most importantly I told her about our STEMSEAS group. 

Everyone in our group is so amazing, so individually astounding. They each shine from within, their passion for marine science and their particular subjects evident in all that they do. Each person in the group made me feel so welcome and genuinely appreciated. I have never had the fortune of meeting so many like minded people before. 

I have been prone to homesickness my entire life. Yet, standing there on the stern of the R/V Sally Ride looking out at the water, I felt like it was exactly where I was meant to be. I couldn’t help but cry, it’s an emotional thing to realize that your childhood dreams and hopes are still alive. Finally, having proof that chasing those dreams all this time had been the right choice. To know, without a doubt that I was the happiest I had ever been. I had never been more comforted than I was at that moment.

The R/V Sally Ride and the STEMSEAS group on board were exactly what I needed in my life. This voyage was just the beginning. The beautiful start to a life devoted to STEM that I’ve wanted since I can remember. I can never thank the crew of the R/V Sally Ride or the STEMSEAS group enough for this opportunity. You all made me happier than I thought possible, and I’ll never forget it.

– Melanie McCoy

A group of 12 students standing on the fantail (stern main deck) of the R/V Sally Ride, with a sunset at sea behind them.

The August 2022 STEMSEAS cohort!

Leave a comment